2014 Young Investigator Colloquium at 72nd APS Annual Scientific Meeting
March 11 and 12, 2014
San Francisco, CA

The American Psychosomatic Society is pleased to present below the 2014 class of the APS Young Investigator Colloquium. The purpose of this annual event is to foster the development of innovative and impactful psychosomatic research by bringing together the expertise of senior APS mentors with the cutting edge research ideas of postgraduate trainees who plan to obtain faculty positions and conduct research in the field of psychosomatic medicine. The Young Investigator Colloquium consists of a keynote address followed by small group sessions in which two mentors and five young investigators in each group meet to discuss the research proposals of young investigators. The five groups are named after legendary figures in the history of psychosomatic medicine research: Walter Cannon, George Engel, Hans Selye, Helen Flanders-Dunbar, and John Mason. The colloquia took place on Wednesday, March 12, and the 25 awardees were present for the remainder of the 2014 Annual Meeting.

Cannon Group

Joel Dimsdale, MD and David S. Krantz, PhD

Carmela Alcantara, PhD, Columbia University, New York, NY, USA
Heather Gunn, PhD, University of Pittsburgh, School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Denise C. Jarrin, PhD, Universite Laval, Post-doctoral Fellowship, Quebec, QC, Canada
Annelieke Roest, PhD, Interdisciplinary Center Psychopathology and Emotion regulation (ICPE), Department of Psychiatry, University Medical Center Groningen, Netherlands
Matthew Zawadzki, PhD, The Pennsylvania State University, State College, PA, USA

Engel Group

Susan Everson-Rose, PhD and Christoph Herrmann-Lingen, MD

Jennifer Boylan, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, USA
Misty Hawkins, PhD, Kent State University, Kent, OH, USA
Lori Hoggard, PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Marc Jarczok, MSSc, Ruprecht-Karls-University Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany
Jana Strahler, PhD, University of Marburg, Marburg, Germany

Selye Group

Michael Irwin, MD and Peter Shapiro, MD

Shannon Crowley, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Shannon Delaney, MD, 2nd year fellow at Columbia Cornell Child Psychiatry program, New York, NY, USA
Jennifer Gordon, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Jennifer Kruse, MD, Mayo Clinic, Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship
Kimberley Smith, PhD, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada

Flanders-Dunbar Group

Gail Ironson, MD, PhD and Shari Waldstein, PhD

Danielle Arigo, PhD, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA
Melissa Bright, PhD, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
Johanna Czamanski-Cohen, PhD, Hertzeliya Interdisciplinary Center
Melissa Hagan, PhD, Child Trauma Research Program, University of California, San Francisco, CA, USA
Julian Koenig, PhD, Post-Doc at the Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA

Mason Group

J. Richard Jennings, PhD and Julian Thayer, PhD

Jenny Cundiff, MS, University of Utah; Pittsburgh VA Healthcare System
Karissa Miller, BA, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Keely Muscatell, PhD, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health and Society Scholars Program at UCSF/UC Berkeley
Leah Pyter, PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago, IL, USA
Claudia Trudel-Fitzgerald, PhD, Laval University, Quebec, QC, Canada

Young Investigator Colloquium Committee:
Richard Lane, MD, PhD
Scott Matthews, MD
Jos Bosch, PhD

2014 Keynote Speaker:
Redford Williams, MD

Introduction of Keynote Speaker by Co-Chair, Dr. Richard Lane

Keynote Presentation by Dr. Redford Williams

History of the Young Investigator Colloquium by Co-Chair, Dr. Scott Matthews

Young Investigator Colloquium Class of 2014