2017 Young Investigator Colloquium at 75th APS Annual Scientific Meeting
March 14 and 15, 2017
Sevilla, Spain

The American Psychosomatic Society is pleased to present below the 2017 class of the APS Young Investigator Colloquium. The purpose of this annual event is to foster the development of innovative and impactful psychosomatic research by bringing together the expertise of senior APS mentors with the cutting edge research ideas of postgraduate trainees who plan to obtain faculty positions and conduct research in the field of psychosomatic medicine. The Young Investigator Colloquium consists of a keynote address followed by small group sessions in which two mentors and four/five young investigators in each group meet to discuss the research proposals of young investigators. The five groups are named after legendary figures in the history of psychosomatic medicine research: Walter Cannon, George Engel, Hans Selye, Helen Flanders-Dunbar, and John Mason. The colloquia took place on Wednesday, March 15 awardees were present for the remainder of the 2017 Annual Meeting.

Cannon Group

Mike Ziegler, MD and Paige Green, PhD

Allison Farrell, PhD, Wayne State University
Philippe Gilchrist, PhD, University of Cambridge, School of Clinical Medicine 
Lisa Gudenkauf, PhD, Mayo Clinic Medical Psychology Fellowship
Jillian Johnson, PhD,The Pennsylvania State University
Anna Roberts, MSc, University College London

Engel Group

Peter Shapiro, MD and Julian Thayer, PhD

Ryan Brindle, PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Tasneem Khambaty, PhD, University of Miami, Department of Psychology
Nicole Osier, PhD, National Institutes of Health/National Institute of Nursing Research Post Doctoral Fellow
Stephanie Schrempft, PhD, University College London
Christian Schultze-Florey, MD, Hannover Medical School

Selye Group

Joel Dimsdale, MD and Martica Hall, PhD

Tory Eisenlohr-Moul, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Elena Ivanova, PhD, University of British Columbia (Okanagan)
Ricardo Millán, CL Psychiatry specialist, Neuroscience masters degree, School of Medicine, University of Costa Rica
Stephanie Wilson, PhD, The Ohio State University College of Medicine
Erin Zelinski, PhD, University of Calgary

Flanders-Dunbar Group

David Krantz, PhD and Karen Weihs, MD

Theodore Cosco, PhD, UCL & University of Oxford
Jayati Das-Munshi, PhD, MRCPsych, King's College London, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience
Anne van Gils, MSc, University of Groningen
Eveline van Montfort, MSc, Tilburg University 

Mason Group

Oliver G. Cameron, MD, PhD and Richard Jennings, PhD

Elisabeth Balint, MD, Department of Psychosomatic Medicine and Psychotherapy, Ulm University Hospital
Ipek Ensari, PhD, Columbia University Medical Center
Johannes Laferton, PhD, Psychology School Berlin (Psychologische Hochschule Berlin)
Andreas Schmitt, PhD, Research Institute of the Diabetes Academy Mergentheim, Diabetes Center Mergentheim

Young Investigator Colloquium Committee:
Oliver G. Cameron, MD, PhD, Chair
Jos Bosch, PhD
Scott Matthews, MD
Urs Nater, PhD

2017 Keynote Speaker:
Matt Muldoon, MD, MPH