2018 Young Investigator Colloquium at 76th APS Annual Scientific Meeting
March 6 and 7, 2018
Louisville, Kentucky

The American Psychosomatic Society is pleased to present below the 2018 class of the APS Young Investigator Colloquium. The purpose of this annual event is to foster the development of innovative and impactful psychosomatic research by bringing together the expertise of senior APS mentors with the cutting edge research ideas of postgraduate trainees who plan to obtain faculty positions and conduct research in the field of psychosomatic medicine. The Young Investigator Colloquium consists of a keynote address followed by small group sessions in which two mentors and four/five young investigators in each group meet to discuss the research proposals of young investigators. The five groups are named after legendary figures in the history of psychosomatic medicine research: Walter Cannon, George Engel, Hans Selye, Helen Flanders-Dunbar, and John Mason. The colloquia took place on Wednesday, March 7 awardees were present for the remainder of the 2018 Annual Meeting.

Cannon Group

Gaston Kapuku, MD, PhD and Susan Lutgendorf, PhD

Jessica Chiang, PhD, Northwestern University
Luz Garcini, PhD, Rice University
Jennifer Guida, PhD, NCI
DeWayne Williams, PhD, The Ohio State University

Engel Group

David Krantz, PhD and Karen Weihs, MD

Ellen-ge Denton, PsyD, City University of New York College of Staten Island
Katherine Duggan, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Cardiovascular Behavioral Medicine, University of Pittsburgh
Rina Fox, PhD, MPH, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Erik Knight, PhD, Penn State University

Selye Group

Martica Hall, PhD and Mustafa al'Absi, PhD

M. Sima Finy, PhD, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Utkarsh Subnis, PhD, University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine
Brooke Jenkins, PhD, Chapman Univeristy
Danica Slavish, PhD, University of North Texas
Marta Walentynowicz, PhD, University of Southern California

Flanders-Dunbar Group

Ken Freedland, PhD and Peter Shapiro, MD

Diana Chirinos, PhD, Northwestern University
Monica Gaudier-Diaz, PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Yin Liu, PhD, Human Development and Family Studies
Yvette Szabo, PhD, VISN 17 Center of Excellence
Kristen Weaver, PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Mason Group

Richard Lane, MD, PhD and J. Richard Jennings, PhD

Luca Carnevali, PhD, University of Parma, Italy
Talea Cornelius, PhD, Columbia University Medical Center
Susanne Fischer, PhD, University of Zurich, Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy
Frederick Ho, PhD, The University of Hong Kong
Bruno Lima, MD, PhD, Emory University

Young Investigator Colloquium Committee:
Oliver G. Cameron, MD, PhD, Chair
Jos Bosch, PhD
Scott Matthews, MD
Urs Nater, PhD

2018 Keynote Speaker:
Tim Smith, PhD