Awards Committee

The Awards Committee (including subcommittees) is responsible for selecting the recipients of the awards and scholarships offered by the Society. These include:

  • Distinguished Scientist Award
  • Herbert Weiner Early Career Award
  • Patricia R. Barchas Award
  • Oken Fellowship (subcommittee)
  • MacLean Award and MacLean Travel Scholarships (subcommittee)
  • Young Scholar Awards
  • MD Travel Awards
  • Diversity Travel Awards
  • Cousins Center Global Outreach Awards

The Awards Committee is also responsible for monitoring, resolving, and preempting through disclosure and recusal, any conflicts of interest among its members that would result in an unfair selection of an award recipient.

Finally, the Awards Committee is responsible for managing the presentation of awards yearly at the Society's annual meeting in coordination with the Program Planning Committee.

Aric Prather, PhD, Chair (2022)

Committee Members

  • Paige Green, PhD, MPH, FABMR
  • John M. Ruiz, PhD
  • A. Janet Tomiyama, PhD
  • Roland von Känel, MD
  • Elizabeth Brondolo, PhD

Oken Sub-Committee

  • Lawson R. Wulsin, MD, Chair (2020)

Paul D. MacLean Award Sub-Committee

  • Hugo Critchley MB ChB, DPhil, Chair
  • Naomi Eisenberger, PhD
  • Annie Ginty, PhD
  • Richard Lane, MD, PhD
  • Evan MacLean, PhD
  • William R. Lovallo, PhD
  • Tor Wager, PhD

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee oversees the recruitment and retention of a diverse membership by implementing activities within APS and by developing and managing relationships with other associations and societies. The Committee aims to enhance the value of APS membership by identifying important needs and trends relevant to current and prospective members, whereby it strives for a balanced representation of disciplines, which is consistent with the Society's mission.

The Committee's mission encompasses all levels of membership including:

  1. Regular membership - those in medical, biological, physiological, psychological and sociological disciplines and professionals who teach, practice, or participate in investigations of psychosomatic relationships
  2. Associate membership - individuals enrolled in medical, graduate, undergraduate school, or in residencies or fellowships,
  3. Early career membership - available for two years following the conclusion of training, to support individuals as they transition to their first independent position
  4. Emeritus membership - regular members who have been a member for 15 years and have reached the age of 70 or who retired for other reasons
  5. Corresponding members - professionals who meet the criteria for regular membership and also reside in developing countries.

Ali Weinstein, PhD, Co-Chair (2021)
David Levinthal, MD, PhD, Co-Chair (2021)

Committee Members

  • Meanne Chan, PhD
  • Erin Costanzo, PhD
  • Elliot Friedman, PhD
  • Paige Green, PhD, MPH, FABMR
  • Tasneem Khambaty, PhD
  • Rebecca G. Reed, PhD
  • Ruichen Sun, BA
  • Catherine Walsh, MS

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee includes six members with staggered terms:

  • Immediate Past-President
  • President
  • One Council member
  • Three At-Large members.

Each year one Nominating Committee Council member will be elected for a one-year term and one at-large member will be elected for a three-year term. Both of these elections will be competitive. The President of the Society shall act as chair. Each fall, the Nominating Committee shall solicit nominations for president-elect, Council seats and seats on the Nominating Committee from the entire membership.

Paige Green, PhD, MPH, FABMR, Chair (2021)

Committee Members

  • Viola Vaccarino, MD, PhD
  • Daryl O'Connor, PhD
  • Sarah Pressman, PhD
  • Sue Everson-Rose, PhD, MPH
  • Lisa Christian, PhD

Professional Education Committee

The Professional Education Committee is dedicated to improving the understanding of mind-body interactions in health and disease in medical education. The Committee presently has several projects: the development of a textbook of “psychosomatic medicine” geared toward enhancing integration of biopsychosocial issues into undergraduate medical education; the solicitation of teaching resources (e.g., slides, bibliographies) from the APS membership to be posted on the website; and the development of educational programming at the annual meeting.

Vanessa Hux, MD, Co-Chair (2023)
Dianne Lattemann, PhD, Co-Chair (2021)

Committee Members

  • Ryan Brindle, PhD
  • Doug Drossman, MD
  • Tara Gruenewald, PhD, MPH
  • Misty Hawkins, PhD
  • Karl Maier, PhD
  • Serina Neuman, PhD
  • Dennis Novack, MD
  • Kristen Salomon PhD
  • Manisha Sawhney, PhD
  • Daichi Shimbo, MD
  • Eva Szigethy, MD
  • Elizabeth Vrany, MS
  • Shari Waldstein, PhD
  • Mike Ziegler, MD

Program Committee


The Program Committee is responsible for developing the academic portions of the Annual Meeting held for 3 to 4 days each March. The Program Committee's mission is primarily to ensure that the scientific programming of the meeting is of high interest to the membership and of high quality.

The Program Committee also serves the strategic goals of the Society, including diversity, mentoring, dissemination, and liaison. Whereas scientific quality is the overarching goal of the Committee, targeted programming and activities may also promote:

  • The study of diversity as it pertains to psychosomatic science
  • Ethnic diversity among the membership
  • Consciousness of the Society among leading scientists who are not already members
  • Accessibility of information about the meeting to the membership and the public at large
  • A sense among trainees that the Society should be their scientific "home".

These goals are achieved democratically via discussion among the members of the Committee, votes by the Committee, and/or blinded peer review.

Nina Kupper, PhD, Chair (2022)

Committee Members

  • Kyle Bourassa, PhD
  • Jennifer Boylan, PhD
  • Christopher Celano, MD
  • Jenny Cundif, PhD
  • Kimberly Dienes, PhD
  • Stefanie Duijndam, MSc
  • Allison Farrell, PhD
  • Siobhan Griffin, PhD
  • James Halbert, PhD
  • Robert Paul Juster, PhD
  • Thomas Kamarck, PhD
  • Youngmee Kim, PhD
  • Riley O'Neil
  • Timothy Smith, PhD
  • Agus Surachman, PhD
  • Cora Weber, MD
  • DeWayne Williams, PhD
  • Matthew Zawadzki, PhD

Scientific Initiative Committee

The goal of the Scientific Initiative Committee is to identify emerging scientific trends in the field and to recommend specific new science initiatives for APS to undertake. Scientific initiatives constitute time-limited foci that might lead to special meetings, annual meeting content, a special issue or series of the journal, thematic continuing education offerings, formation of Special Interest Groups, or some combination thereof.

For example, the recent Affect Science scientific initiative theme was adopted in 2015, which led to a midyear meeting among other outcomes. The APS strategic plan includes provision for new scientific initiatives every 3-5 years.

To learn more about the Scientific Initiative Committee, please contact Julian Thayer at

Julian F. Thayer, PhD, Chair

Committee Members

  • Elizabeth Brondolo, PhD
  • Matthew R. Cribbet, PhD
  • Paige Green, PhD, MPH, FABMR
  • Gaston Kapuku, MD, PhD
  • Nina Kupper, PhD
  • Ali Weinstein, PhD